Disclosure: When you purchase a service or a product through our links, we sometimes earn a commission, Read More.

SiteGround Review (2020)

Founded in 2004 by a few university friends, SiteGround gradually but steadily turned into a leading web hosting service provider. With only a handful of people working from their university dorm rooms in the beginning, today the company has more than 400 employees and is constantly growing.

SiteGround has been the fastest growing web hosting provider in the last five years.

SiteGround hosts over 2,000,000 domain names worldwide including this website.

We’ve been a happy SiteGround customer for many years now, and in this SiteGround review, we will tell you exactly why we host our site with them.

We will cover every bit of information about SiteGround.

Let’s start with company background!

SiteGround Review LogoFounded in 2004 by a few university friends, SiteGround gradually but steadily turned into a leading web hosting service provider.

With only a handful of people working from their university dorm rooms in the beginning, today the company has more than 400 employees and is constantly growing.

According to the company, SiteGround processes 1500+ tickets, 1000+ phone calls and 3000+ chat requests per day. It hosts more than 2,000,000 domains worldwide.

Pros Of Using SiteGround

Normally, when we review a web hosting provider, we always pay for their popular hosting plan to run performance tests.

As we use SiteGround to host this website (SayWebHosting.com), we didn’t need to purchase another hosting just for this review.

We ran the performance tests with this domain : https://www.saywebhosting.com.

99.99% Uptime – Higher Than Their Promise

We used Pingdom (a popular tool which is used by many to track the uptime and downtime of their websites.) and started tracking the uptime for over 9 months.

SiteGround Uptime Results (Aug 2019 to April 2020)

Aug 2019, Uptime : 100%

Sep 2019, Uptime : 100%

Oct 2019, Uptime : 100%

Nov 2019, Uptime : 100%

Dec 2019, Uptime : 100%

Jan 2020, Uptime : 100%

Feb 2020, Uptime : 100%

March 2020, Uptime : 99.99%

April 2020, Uptime : 100%

We found out that SiteGround uptime was 99.99% in April and perfect 100% in over 8 months.

Lightning Fast Response Time

We were stunned to see that our test website hosted on SiteGround had an amazing response time of close to 400ms.

This is a great number when you compare with other established hosting providers, which have average response time of over 600+ ms.

SiteGround response time was around 40% better than other hosts that we have compared.

SiteGround Response Time Results

Oct 2019 : 395 ms

Nov 2019 : 410 ms

Dec 2019 : 394 ms

Jan 2020 : 390 ms

Feb 2020 : 345 ms

March 2020 : 402 ms

April 2020 : 375 ms

To find the loading time, we used Pingdom tool again.

The loading speed was 973 ms which is excellent compared to 1.51 seconds of HostGator & 3+ seconds of BlueHost.

You can test the loading speed of this website here.

SiteGround Hosting Review - Pingdom Speed Test
SiteGround Pingdom Speed Test

Google Page Speed Insights Results

Nobody likes a slow website. Website speed is an important ranking signal that Google uses to rank websites.

Google has its own page speed testing tool. We used it to find out how well this website performs.

We tested the same URL on which you are reading this review right now, and it received an excellent score of 94.

How About SiteGround Customer Support? Excellent!

To be a good web hosting provider, it’s very important to have a great customer support team.

SiteGround offers many tutorials in their control panel if you are stuck while setting up your website.

If you can’t solve your issue with their help articles, you can always contact their support by :

  • Opening a Ticket
  • Email
  • Live Chat
  • 24/7 Telephone Support

SiteGround Live Chat Review

Just to find out how helpful SiteGround customer support is, we created a non existent problem and used the Live Chat.

This is how it went!

Wait time to connect to an agent : 2 Minutes

Quality of the answers : 10/10

Overall Customer Support Experience : 10/10

No wonder how a dorm room company could manage to become one of the giants in the web hosting industry.

Surely one main reason is the excellent customer support.

Partnership With Google

Earlier this year, SiteGround partnered with Google and they have started using Google Cloud platform to host part of our infrastructure.

Google is known for maintaining one of the fastest and most powerful networks, which means that using their service will result in high speed for your website.

Also, Google matches 100% the energy consumed by their global operations with renewable energy and maintains a commitment to carbon neutrality.

SiteGround Partnership With Google

Choice Of Data Center Locations

Another big plus point is the choice of choosing datacenter. SiteGround gives you a choice of four locations:

  1. Chicago, USA
  2. IOWA, USA
  3. Amsterdam, Netherland
  4. London, UK
  5. Singapore

SiteGround Web Hosting Data Center Locations
You can choose the location while signing up depending on where majority of your website visitors would be from.

If your visitors are from Singapore or any neighbouring countries, choosing SiteGround datacenter in that location would be a wise option as that will contribute significantly to your website performance.

You can always use a CDN (Content Delivery Network) like Cloudflare to speed up your website to visitors from all around the world.

You can easily activate CloudFlare inside SiteGround Control Panel.

*If you want relocate your website to different server after purchasing the host, you will be charged a fee of $30.

Money Back Guarantee

Another unique move by SiteGround.

They guarantee that if you ever experience more than 0.1% downtime on a yearly basis you will be compensated.

They have publicly guaranteed this on their website. This shows us how confident they are about their servers and uptime.

SiteGround Review - WordPress LogoFor an easy start they provide 1-click installer and free transfer.

You can count on them for WordPress managed autoupdates and easy command line management with WP-CLI.

For WordPress super speed we offer SuperCacher on all plans above the StartUp.

Geeks can use WP staging and Git integration on our GoGeek, cloud and dedicated plans.

One-click WordPress Features

SiteGround Review - Joomla Logo

  • Autoinstaller For Easy Start
  • Autoupdater For Great Security
  • SuperCacher For Great Speed
  • Staging & Git For Geeky Users

Cons of using SiteGround

Unlike other popular web hosting companies, SiteGround uses their own control panel.

Even though they don’t use the traditional cPanel, this control panel is less complicated and very easy to navigate.

We have gallery of SiteGround control panel below.

There’s only one downside that we could think of :

Lack of cPanel.

If you are looking for a hosting with traditional cPanel, you can choose HostGator which comes with cPanel.

You can read our HostGator Review as well.

SiteGround Web Hosting Plans

SiteGround offers three plans: StartUp, GrowBig & GoGeek with different features. You can check out the features of each plans below and choose the best plan for you.

SiteGround Web Hosting Plans Review
SiteGround Web Hosting Plans Review

Do We Recommend SiteGround?

YES! From the tests that we performed during the past few months, we have got numbers better than other hosting giants.

That’s why we have been paying SiteGround for hosting since 2013, and we haven’t had any major issues till date.

You can use this site as a test site to get a picture of how your next website will perform on SiteGround.

Here’s a quick tabular recap of this SiteGround Review.

Category SiteGround
Response Time390ms
Load Speed973ms
Uptime99.99%
Cheapest Plan$3.95/month
Customer Support5/5
Overall Rating5/5

SiteGround is Also Recommended By :

SiteGround Reviews

Customer Reviews on “SiteGround Review (2020)”

  1. Prathamesh says:

    I personally like SiteGround. They have 99.9% uptime and they have everything you’d need in the GrowBig plan and its economical. I am using the Grow Big plan and have no issues so far.

  2. I have been trying many web hosting companies for years and my experience is that SiteGround seems to keep coming back as one of the best because it does offer a great service.

  3. Ravi Kishore says:

    I m very satisfied with SiteGround services since last 5 years, never faced any kind of major issue in my blogging experience till date. First of all there online support is amazing at all times and what they publish on site is what you get. No changes and no false promises. I like SiteGround

  4. Abid Omar says:

    I’m getting pretty good service. I signed up with siteground quickly not really researching the web host provider all that much.

    Siteground’s customer service has been very friendly and supportive. They’ve answered all of my hundreds of questions. I recommend Siteground!!

  5. Akhil Pulotil says:

    SiteGround is the best shared web hosting provider. I’ve had some sites running on it and I had not faced any problems. Also, the support team is very hard working and understanding. I definitely recommend SiteGround to everyone who is going to start a new website or blog.

  6. Adeel Sami says:

    My all 5 to SG! No choice other than Siteground when it comes to the hosting provider!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *