SiteGround Review – How Good is SiteGround Web Hosting?

The following two tabs change content below.

Adam Williams

I'm a writer with a passion for technology. I've been constantly testing different web hosts and writing in-depth reviews on this site since 2008. If you have any questions or finding it difficult to choose the right host, you can contact me at support@saywebhosting.com.
SiteGround.com
  • Editor Rating

  • Rated 5 stars
  • Spectacular
$3.95
  • 5/5 Avg. User Rating

  • Rated 5 stars
  • 6 Reviews

  • SiteGround.com
  • Reviewed by:
  • Published on:
  • Last modified: December 30, 2016
  • Quality
    Editor: 95%
    User: 91%
  • Support
    Editor: 100%
    User: 90%
  • Price
    Editor: 94%
    User: 92%
  • Overall
    Editor: 95%
    User: 94%

Review Summary:

A complete review & ratings of SiteGround hosting with performance, uptime, speed test and response time tests of past one year.

SiteGround is a hosting provider with a lot of positive reviews on forums and review websites.

SiteGround hosts over 500,000 domain names worldwide.

Since this post is a SiteGround review, here’s every bit of information about SiteGround – Speed, Uptime and Reliability for the last 6 months.

Let’s start with company background!SiteGround Review Logo

Founded in 2004 by a few university friends, SiteGround gradually but steadily turned into a leading web hosting service provider.

With only a handful of people working from their university dorm rooms in the beginning, today the company has more than 400 employees and is constantly growing.

According to the company, SiteGround processes 1500+ tickets, 1000+ phone calls and 3000+ chat requests per day. It hosts more than 500,000 domains worldwide.

Pros Of Using SiteGround

Whenever we review a web hosting provider, we always make sure that the facts and figures of the performance are accurate most of the time.

This is why we purchased a “GoGeek” hosting plan from SiteGround and set up a website. We used this website for a variety of the tests to find out how good SiteGround hosting performs in real world.

99.99% Uptime – Higher Than Their Promise

Along with the hosting plan, we also signed up with Pingdom (a tool which is used by many website owners to track the uptime and downtime of their websites.) and started tracking the uptime for over 6 months.

SiteGround Uptime Results (Feb 2016 to Aug 2016 6 Months)

Feb 2016, Uptime : 99.99%

March 2016, Uptime : 99.99%

April 2016, Uptime : 100%

May 2016, Uptime : 99.99%

June 2016, Uptime : 99.99%

July 2016, Uptime : 100%

August 2016, Uptime : 100%

We found out that SiteGround uptime was 99.99% every month and perfect 100 in April, July & August.

There were only 4 outages (downtime) over the past 6 months that we tested.

SiteGround Review - Uptime Results

Uptime Results of SiteGround Testing Site

Lightning Fast Response Time

We were stunned to see that our test website hosted on SiteGround had an amazing response time of close to 300ms.

This is a great number when you compare with other established hosting providers, who have average response time of over 600+ ms.

SiteGround response time was around 40% better than other hosts that we have compared.

SiteGround Response Time Results

Feb 2016 : 445 ms

March 2016 : 415 ms

April 2016 : 423 ms

May 2016 : 410 ms

June 2016 : 394 ms

July 2016 : 390 ms

August 2016 : 395 ms

How Fast Does It Load?

To find the loading time, we used Pingdom tool again.

The loading speed was 565 ms which is excellent compared to 1.51 seconds of HostGator & 3+ seconds of BlueHost.

SiteGround Review - Speed Test

SiteGround Review – Speed Test

And Customer Support? Excellent!

This is a very important category that contributes significantly to the overall rating of a hosting provider.

Customer support is very important when you decide to purchase any kind of services on internet.

As we had already purchased a hosting from SiteGround, we rightfully contacted the support team for help. We also had prepared a list of questions to know the quality and sincerity of the answers.
Waiting time to connect to an agent : 2 Minutes

Quality of the answers : 10/10

Overall Customer Support Experience : 10/10

No wonder how a dorm room company could manage to become one of the giants in the web hosting business. One of the main reasons could be the excellent customer support.

Choice of Data Centre Location

Another big plus point is the choice of choosing datacenter. SiteGround gives you a choice of four locations:

  1. Chicago, USASiteGround Data Centers
  2. Amsterdam, Netherland
  3. London, UK
  4. Singapore

You can choose the location while signing up depending on where majority of your website visitors would be from.

If your visitors are from Singapore or any neighbouring countries, choosing SiteGround datacenter in that location would be a wise option as that will contribute significantly to your website performance.

This move from SiteGround to give datacenter is a dealmaker.
*If you want relocate your website to different server after purchasing the host, SiteGround charges a fee of $30.

Money Back Guarantee

Another unique move by SiteGround.

They guarantee that if you ever experience more than 0.1% downtime on a yearly basis you will be compensated.

They have publicly guaranteed this on their website. This shows us how confident they are about their servers and uptime.

SiteGround Review - WordPress LogoManaged WordPress Hosting

For an easy start they provide 1-click installer and free transfer.

You can count on them for WordPress managed autoupdates and easy command line management with WP-CLI.

For WordPress super speed we offer SuperCacher on all plans above the StartUp.

Geeks can use WP staging and Git integration on our GoGeek, cloud and dedicated plans.

Joomla & WordPress FeaturesSiteGround Review - Joomla Logo

  • Autoinstaller For Easy Start
  • Autoupdater For Great Security
  • SuperCacher For Great Speed
  • Staging & Git For Geeky Users

 Cons of using SiteGround

There is nothing on internet that is perfect. Everything comes with a downside.

SiteGround also has its downsides and here are they.

Set Up Fee (Only on Monthly Plans)

SiteGround charges a setup fee if you purchase a trial monthly plan which we don’t recommend.

Monthly plan will prove to be very expensive in a long run. So always purchase yearly plan.

SiteGround Web Hosting Plans

SiteGround offers three plans: StartUp, GrowBig, & GoGeek with different features. You can check out the features of each plans below and choose the best plan for you.

Check SiteGround Web Hosting Plans

Do We Recommend SiteGround?

YES! From the tests that we performed during the past few months, we have got numbers better than other hosting giants.

That’s what made us host this site on SiteGround and we haven’t had any problems till date.

You can use this site as a test site to get a picture of how your future website would perform on SiteGround.

Click Here to visit SiteGround Now

SiteGround is Also Recommended By :

SiteGround Reviews

SiteGround Discount For Our Readers!

SiteGround is giving exclusive discount up to 60% to our readers. (Use the link below for discount.)

Get 60% Special Discount Now!

The following two tabs change content below.

Adam Williams

I'm a writer with a passion for technology. I've been constantly testing different web hosts and writing in-depth reviews on this site since 2008. If you have any questions or finding it difficult to choose the right host, you can contact me at support@saywebhosting.com.

User Reviews

  1. Prathamesh on SiteGround Review –
  2. Ronald on SiteGround Review –
  3. Ravi Kishore on SiteGround Review –
  4. Abid Omar on SiteGround Review –
  5. Akhil Pulotil on SiteGround Review –
  6. Adeel Sami on SiteGround Review –

Leave a Reply

css.php